Genie Awards 2012: the winners

Genie Awards 2012: the winners

George Stroumboulopoulos hosted the 32nd annual Genie Awards this Thursday, March 8 on CBC, live from the Westin Harbour Castle in Toronto.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Motion Picture: Monsieur Lazhar - Luc Déry, Kim McCraw

Achievement In Direction: Philippe Falardeau - Monsieur Lazhar

Performance By An Actor In A Leading Role: Fellag - Monsieur Lazhar

Performance By An Actor In A Supporting Role: Viggo Mortensen - A Dangerous Method

Performance By An Actress In A Leading Role: Vanessa Paradis - Café De Flore

Performance By An Actress In A Supporting Role:  Sophie NélisseMonsieur Lazhar

Achievement In Art Direction/Production Design:  James McAteer - A Dangerous Method

Achievement In Cinematography:  Jean-François Lord - Snow & Ashes

Achievement In Costume Design:   Marie-Chantale VaillancourtFunkytown

Achievement In Editing:  Stéphane LafleurMonsieur Lazhar

Achievement In Make-Up: Christiane Fattori, Frédéric Marin - Café De Flore

Achievement In Music – Original Score: Howard Shore - A Dangerous Method

Achievement In Music – Original Song: Carole Facal - Starbuck - Quelque part

Achievement In Overall Sound: Orest Sushko, Christian Cooke - A Dangerous Method

Achievement In Sound Editing: Wayne Griffin, Rob Bertola, Tony Currie, Andy Malcolm, Michael O’FarrellA Dangerous Method

Original Screenplay: Ken Scott, Martin PetitStarbuck

Adapted Screenplay: Philippe Falardeau - Monsieur Lazhar

Achievement In Visual Effects: Cynthia Mourou, Eric Normandin, Martin Pensa, Luc Sanfaçon, Sylvain Théroux, Nathalie TremblayCafé De Flore

Best Feature Length Documentary: La Nuit, Elles Dansent / At Night, They Dance - Isabelle Lavigne, Stéphane ThibaultLucie Lambert

Best Short Documentary: Sirmilik - Zacharias Kunuk, Joel Mcconvey, Kristina Mclaughlin, Kevin Mcmahon, Michael Mcmahon, Geoff Morrison, Ryan J. Noth

Best Live Action Short Drama: Doubles With Slight PepperIan Harnarine

Best Animated Short: Romance - Georges Schwizgebel, René Chénier, Marc Bertrand

Claude-Jutra Award (Best First Film):  Nuit #1Anne Émond

Golden Reel (biggest boxoffice hit): Starbuck - André Rouleau


Posted in

Film News